Taken together, the countries account for nearly half of EU power production – largely thanks to the contributions from Germany and France, Europe’s two biggest power producers.

The aim was set by EU members Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands and non-EU Switzerland, which aligns itself with some EU climate policies. In a joint statement, the countries said existing EU climate measures are likely to steer Europe towards a nearly CO2-free power sector by 2040.

Agreeing to move faster together, the countries said, would help them jointly plan infrastructure to make sure they build enough grids and energy storage to integrate large amounts of low-carbon power into the network and keep it flowing across country borders.

Source: ECEEE

The post Seven European countries pledge CO2-free power systems by 2035 appeared first on Vastuullisuusuutiset.fi.